You are here

Humanitarian Award

This award is presented to an individual or group who has contributed to the field of human sexuality through some private endeavor, charitable event(s), public awareness campaign, sex-positive educational offering, or political platform and who has received national and/or international recognition for the contribution.

(2023) Dr. Alex Iantaffi

(2022) Midori

(2021) Natasha Singh

(2020) Gretchen Fincke, MSSW, CST, CSTS

(2019) Patty Brisben

(2018) Women of Color Sexual Health Network

(2017) Effat Merghati Khoei, PhD

(2015) Dan Savage

(2014) William Seabloom, MDiv, PhD, DST

(2013) No Award

(2012) Sarah Weddington, JD, argued the landmark 1973 Supreme Court case Roe v. Wade

(2011) Rev. Dr. James Siefkes for his work in pioneering convergence among national religious bodies, sexuality experts and science (2010), M. Jocelyn Elders, MD former Surgeon General

(2009) Elma Cole, David Satcher, MD, former Surgeon General, Nadine Strossen and the American Civil Liberties Union, Phil Harvey for his philanthropic investment in supporting the sexual health of millions of people in the developing world, Planned Parenthood Federation of America; Gov Arne Carlson and Sen Linda Runbeck of Minnesota for legislation supporting sexuality education